non vegans thinking that vegan food makes me feel guilty

WE DON’T WANT TO MAKE CHILDREN FEEL GUILT OR SHAME!

this was said in an email to me. a noble goal in general.  in specific, I get to feel shamed and guilty.

GAH!.  backstory.  I volunteered to be part of a team that teaches 3rd and 4rth graders about various world holidays.  We rotate out.  so I’m only teaching every couple of months.  (it’s a once a week thing.)

There is food preparation for many holidays.  I don’t want to be involved in feeding children dead things.  that is so gross.  don’t want to prepare it, don’t want to encourage it.  which is not to say that I actively discourage meat eating.  That is not my place (legally it is the parent’s place).

I clearly stated these boundaries.  Another member suggested that we make vegan versions of everything where possible.  I was so happy I nearly cried.  he’s even an omnivore.  but thought it would be a great way to show accpetance of vegans and for kids to learn about that option.

it is now causing a shit storm.  woot.  and as THE VEGAN. I’m in the middle of it.  I really just want to wail on people about why it is important to be vegan in general.  but bleah.  it would make the shit storm bigger.  this person is obviously feeling guilt and shame.  they must be uncomfortable with their own diet.  if they are that uncomfortable with their dietary chocies why force them on the kids? most other people are happy to learn about new food.  they like food.  more food options means MORE FOOD!!!! isn’t that good?

also the greater organisation is looking into ethical eating as its big 4 year study right now.  so shouldn’t we be considering this?  the labor situation is one of the worst, the environtmental affects are some of the worst, the hurt to living creatures that feel pain is just dreadful.

but because I made someone think about by my mere existence.  Its my fault.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nakedthoughts.wordpress.com/2009/10/19/non-vegans-thinking-that-vegan-food-makes-me-feel-guilty/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

