Sexism, Racism and “Liberal Doods”

Yesterday I helped the Hare Krishna’s cook food for their “krishna Fest”  Overall I thought the talk was far too literal in it’s interpretation of the Bhagavagita.  Because “bad Karma” from previous lives is victim blaming at its best.

There is awesome, AWESOME stuff in the vedic scriptures.  You know, about love and acceptance and putting others first.  but we must understand the political context in which is arose.  COUGH..caste system…COUGH.  so your lot in life is based on karma, it’s YOUR fault if you are a slave.  It is YOUR Fault if you are subject to homophobia, IT IS YOUR FAULT if you are beaten and raped???  I don’t buy that for a second.   (not that the hare krishnas used these examples but I’m pretty  sure they follow logically)

Now onto my real rant.  The MC at “Krishna Fest”  made a “self-deprecating” “joke” at the beginning of the talk to put us all at “ease”.  This is a Hare Krishna monk:

“as you can see I’m not the best looking, in fact when I was born the doctor slapped my mother”

So not only is this guy overly concerning himself with the physical, he is doing it in a way that has violence toward women.  Yes it is the mothers fault.  because the father wouldn’t have any thing to do with the genetics of how a child looks.  because it is ok to judge women on their baby popping abilities and to hit them when they aren’t good enough.  it is ok to blame women for everything their child does, how they look, how they think, and what they wear, or the nature of their poos, from minute 1.

I was of course to “polite” (bad NT) to point this out at a festival the main point of which really is to sing and dance and say a mantra all together.. (You know the fun bits that I think are worthwhile).

I keep thinking I want to find a spiritual path, but the only ones that have been presented are full of asshats.

Later on I went to fire dancing.  I was talking to this liberal dood who looked about my age (mid 20s).  one of his young friends (looked 15, family member? don’t know) decided to tell a joke.  it was racist.  In fact it was racist on multiple levels, because it was about a maori being racist against asian immigrants.  so not only is it against asians… but it says, “it’s not white me being racists it’s those damn maoris”  (Cause that’s not a racist sentiment at all. )

Now I mentioned how not funny it was, and the “LiBeRaL Dood” said, “that’s right, you’re religious”.  Basically saying if I were more liberal I could take a joke.  But I’m not liberal, I’m radical, and I have no tolerance for hate.  I also did a bit of a double take.  I think racist things are bad because I’m religious? (obviously he’s never been to the states…).  My moral compas comes from far greater things than promise of an afterlife.  Like reason and compassion.  I had mentioned my unitarian universalist ties and my occasional singing of hare krishna mantras.  now The 7 principles of unitarianism are:

  • The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
  • Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
  • Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
  • A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  • The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large;
  • The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  • Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part.

nothing here even refers to a belief in god.  (athiests make up to nearly 20% of the “congregation”).  But do to my “silly religion”  He maintains I have no sense of humour.  (if I were only a reasonable agnostic/athiest I could laugh at people who were different and or funny looking)  W.T.F.

I have a sense of humour, just one that doesn’t support the heternormative, gendered, mysogynistic, racist, homophobic, patriarchal, capitalistic, speciesist, rape culture, BULLSHIT paradigm.

Published in: on November 16, 2008 at 9:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nakedthoughts.wordpress.com/2008/11/16/sexism-racism-and-liberal-doods/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

