Yet another reason our Country’s Obsession with weight is a bad thing

Yesterday my sister’s father-in-law congratualated me on my weight loss. He was astonished! “wow! you can really tell you’ve lost a lot of weight since the last time we were here!”

I felt awkward, and said thank you.

What was I supposed to say to people i hardly know? People I only see a couple times a year (if that)? the truth?

I felt like screaming. If he knew why/how I lost the wait, would it be a congratulation? ]

I lost FSM only knows how much weight (I don’t own a scale). My diet secret is being so depressed that I don’t get out of bed even to eat, sometimes for days at a time. My exercise regime is climbing up tall things, contemplating taking the fastest route down, then reconsidering and taking the stairs.

The first time a peer told me I was pretty, was when I was 13. I had just come back from 2 weeks of the stomach flu and had lost about 15 pounds from not being able to eat.

not much has changed in 14 years. illness causes pain which renders me incapable of eating, but at least I’m SKINNY!

Published in: on November 1, 2010 at 9:53 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://nakedthoughts.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/yet-another-reason-our-countrys-obsession-with-weight-is-a-bad-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. honey are you OK? i know i haven’t talked to you in a long while. Post a reply or contact me via e-mail at williamcaii@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

